Unforunately, I don't know how to embedd the Lichess game directly without breaking the CSS of this page, so I've left a direcet link to the Lichess game and the raw PGN file at the bottom if you want to import it to another reader.

The Morra proper starts after 4.Nxc3. My opponent immediately fucks up and I don't notice! Responding with 4.Nf6 is immediately bulldozed by e5. The horsey has no squares except to sadly move back to where it came. Fortunately I'm immune to central pawn moves in the opening and continue on my merry way.

c5 is still playable after 5.d6, but if she takes the pawn it leads to a boring end game where white is slightly better because black can't castle but so who would ever play that. Instead I just played typical Morra moves by bringing a bishop to c4 to potentially target the pawn on f7 with a future Ng5.

Black playing 6.g4 shuts down Ng5 ideas due to the queen pin, but gives white an oppurtunity to more than equalise, winning back the pawn by simply taking f7 with the bishop. The only good move is to take with the king, and the followup Nf5, exploiting the pawn on d6 being pinned lets you snatch the bishop on g4. After the trades material is equal, but black's centre is likely going to be weak for the rest of the game and the missing c and f pawns will make it hard to ever find shelter for the king, giving a very pleasant position. This move is very findable and is the type of thing I consistently need to work on. It really only needs to observation that the d pawn is pinned to let you see the rest, and its the kind of approach I need to get better at looking at in this type of position.

Instead I came up with Qb3. The idea being to put more pressure on the f pawn while also attacking b7. White is still better here, but the sting of this can be slightly taken away with the response Qb6. This allows you to take the f pawn and be clearly better, but there's no immediate followup, you could trade queens, and just be comfortably better for the upcoming endgame, but where's the fun in that. In any case, black played e6, as I expected, but then I just... didn't take on b7... for some reason. Even though that was the entire point of bringing the queen out. The obvious lesson here is that I need to be more concrete. I got cold feet because those b and f pawns are so often poisonous, but it takes very little thought to walk through it and see that at worst the rook will make the Queen slightly awkwardly wiggle its way back down the queenside before leaving and that the b pawn is completely defended. Intutition or some abstract feeling about the position had no place here.

I chose the developing move instead, bringing the dark bishop to f5. I think I thought I was being clever here. If she tries to eject it again with c5, that of course loses on the spot, since the entire point of c6 was to cut the bishop from the f pawn. If my opponent has more than a modicum of sense though, this clearly lets moves like Nh5 stronger in the future. If I were going to do this, I at least ought to have put the bishop on a less bad square like e3 or the more agressive g5.

Lichess Game

[Event "Rated Rapid game"] [Site "https://lichess.org/9i4EwqTn"] [Date "2022.05.18"] [White "MattingtonBear890"] [Black "merotero"] [Result "1-0"] [UTCDate "2022.05.18"] [UTCTime "15:18:39"] [WhiteElo "1554"] [BlackElo "1584"] [WhiteRatingDiff "+6"] [BlackRatingDiff "-6"] [Variant "Standard"] [TimeControl "900+10"] [ECO "B21"] [Opening "Sicilian Defense: Smith-Morra Gambit"] [Termination "Normal"] 1. e4 c5 2. d4 cxd4 3. c3 dxc3 4. Nxc3 Nf6 5. Nf3 d6 6. Bc4 Bg4 7. Qb3 e6 8. Bf4 b6 9. O-O-O Be7 10. e5 Nh5 11. exd6 Bf6 12. Bb5+ Nd7 13. Be5 Bxe5 14. Nxe5 Qg5+ 15. Kb1 Bxd1 16. Bxd7+ Kf8 17. Nxf7 Bxb3 18. Nxg5 Bc4 19. Nxe6+ Bxe6 20. Bxe6 Rd8 21. Rd1 Nf4 22. Bg4 Nxg2 23. Ne4 Nf4 24. Ng5 g6 25. Rd4 h6 26. Rxf4+ Kg8 27. Nf7 Rf8 28. d7 g5 29. Rf5 Rh7 30. Nxh6+ 1-0